Now anyone with a Boords account can create storyboards, together
Collaboration is the secret sauce in many a creative process, and storyboarding is no exception. From creative teams mapping out a film or animation, to E-Learning companies outlining user interaction, collaborating during the planning stage is one of the best ways to ensure the success of your project.
If you don't have a Boords account, go ahead and create one (it's free).
Put simply, Collaborators are other Boords users. Once you add them, they can edit existing storyboards, but can't delete storyboards, or create new ones. They also need to be added to projects one-by-one. This is in contrast to Teammates, who can be added to all storyboards within a Team. A full rundown of user permissions can be found in our Help Center.
You can add Collaborators either by going directly to the collaborator invitation form, or via the Project Team dropdown on any of your storyboards:
You'll then be prompted to enter their email address, and to select the the Project you'd like them to have access to. Again, Collaborators are added on a project-by-project basis; if you'd like to share all your projects with somone, take a look at our Team plan.
After you've added Collaborators, they'll appear on your Collaborators list, where you can edit their permissions, or remove them entirely.
To add a Collaborator to an existing project, just find them in the Collaborators list, the click "Edit Project Access" menu item. From there, use the toggle to add or remove them from a given project.
It's generally simplest for one person to take the lead on creating a first draft of a storyboard, then involving Collaborators when they're ready for feedback. This can often be a Creative mapping out an idea, then sending a storyboard to a Client for feedback.
Your Collaborators will already have access to your storyboard, so you can drop them an email when it's ready for review - or, better yet - let them know by adding a comment.
Commenting in Boords is the easiest way to get feedback on your storyboards, because adding a comment sends an email notification to everyone who has access to that storyboard. Each comment also has a "completed" checkmark next to it, so you can mark it as done - this also sends out an email notification.
If leaving a comment feels like overkill, then Boords also offers a more lightweight way of leaving feedback - the Frame Statuses feature. With it, you can mark a Frame with one of three pre-defined statuses:
You can add or remove these statuses via the Frame Actions Toolbar. Note that email notifications are not sent for frame status changes.
Storyboarding is an iterative process, and the draft / feedback loop outlined above can happen many times before a storyboard is ready to move into production. Keeping your storyboards, comments, and feedback all in one place will help you and your team get your project off to the best possible start.